Page Index Toggle Pages: 1 [2] 3 4 ... 8 Send Topic
Very Hot Topic (More than 25 Replies) Getting Closer on 2.7 (Read 49115 times)

Red Barchetta

Zodiac sign: Aries
Re: Getting Closer on 2.7
Reply #15 - May 20th, 2022 at 2:23am

I am not a programmer. I could type in the fixes, and understand some of the basics, but I have been more of a beta tester than anything.

Over the years, I have seen the developers slowly disappear. The fabulous coders, the people who do the languages, etc, stopped showing up. Some, unfortunately, are no longer with us. Times have changed and people have different priorities, and for many, YaBB is not one of them. I keep a browser window open 24/7 for each yabbforumsoftware and yabbforum, even though the latter has been down for the last couple of months. I have watched the traffic die. It's unfortunate, but without the programmers that have the time to spend without compensation on the project, the project is dead. As mentioned, our rival, SMF has the support, and the interest. Though I stand behind YaBB, I'm going to have to admit they have the better product, YaBB fell behind. My forum has been down due to server issues for several years now, but I think I had a good run when mine was operating. We had a lot of help, the support forums were always busy with questions and answers. We had good times, and I would like to thank everyone that was involved. I'll stick around as long as I can here, and over on yabbforum if it ever comes back on-line. But honestly, unless programmers come back, I think this has gone as far as its going to go.  Sad

Florida Classics and Muscle Car Automotive Forum Administrator
IP Logged

Dandello
Forum Administrator
YaBB Modder

I love YaBB 2.7!

Mood: Annoyed
Zodiac sign: Virgo
Reply #16 - May 20th, 2022 at 4:06am